Overview of New World Wine Regions

Video: 39sec Quiz: 2 questions

[jwplayer player=”1″ mediaid=”9070″]

New world wine regions refers to all of the wine growing regions outside of Europe. Key new world wine regions include California, Washington, Oregon, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. There are probably some new world wine regions that you didn’t even know about.

Some of the wine grapes that are each of these new world wine regions are best know for include:

California – Cabernet, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Zinfandel, Chardonnay, and Sauvignon Blanc
Washington – Cabernet, Merlot, Chardonnay, and Riesling
Oregon – Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, and increasingly Riesling
Argentina – Malbec, Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvigon
Chile – Cabernet, Chardonnay, Carmenere
Australia – Syrah/Shiraz, Cabernet, Chardonnay, Riesling
New Zealand – Pinot Noir, Sauvignon Blanc
South Africa – Cabernet, Pinotage, Chenin Blanc, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay

Check out these wines and you have a good shot at finding a winner.

The “New World” Regions

  • California
  • Oregon
  • Washington
  • Canada
  • Argentina
  • Chile
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa