Introduction to the Big 6 Grapes

Video: 1m 16sec Quiz: 7 questions

[jwplayer player=”1″ mediaid=”9056″]

There are literally hundreds of wine grapes, but to get a really strong start in understanding quality wine, get familiar with what I call “the big six” wine grapes:  Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay for whites; and Pinot Noir, Merlot/Cabernet (which are very similar and often blended together), and Syrah aka Shiraz for reds. Learning the taste profile and body style of these is easy, and will give you a huge leg up when navigating the wine list or a wine shop.

The “Big 6” Grapes

  • Red Grapes
    • Pinot Noir
    • Cabernet/Merlot
    • Syrah/Shiraz
  • White Grapes
    • Riesling
    • Sauvignon Blanc
    • Chardonnay